Steve Linnegar's Snakeshed
Classic Epics

(When the time is right, the Master will appear)

Classic Epics


  1. Tao Ch'ang Wu Wei (Linnegar/Kopelowitz)
  2. Tao Riders (Linnegar)
  3. Monitoring (Linnegar)
  4. Kamakura Dragons (Linnegar)
  5. Lamplight Shines (Linnegar)
  6. Desert (Linnegar)
  7. I Will Cry (Linnegar)

Produced by Steve Linnegar & Peter Hubner except 'Lamplight Shines' produced by Steve Linnegar
Sound Engineer: Peter Hubner
Recorded Emcee Studios except Lamplight Shines recorded at Alvic Studios


  • Martin Kopelowitz: guitars, vocals
  • Steve Linnegar: guitars, vocals
  • Peter Hubner: keyboards
  • Jethro Butow: guitar
  • Gerald Stockton
  • Cedric Samson: drums
  • Ashley Kelly: bass
  • Les Goode: bass
  • Sean Wright: drums
  • Alan James
  • Victor Sweeney: drums
  • Ray Birch: guitar
  • Roger Farbey: violin on 'Lamplight Shines'

Release information:

1982, Snake Records, Cat. Number LK 1000


Despite the decidedly Oriental look to the cover, and song titles like 'Tao Ch'ang Wu Wei' this classic epic is neither Tai Chi nor feely, more drum stick than chop stick and as removed from saki as it is from sakkie.

Released in 1982, this album harks back to the American rock of the late 70's. It's textured rock that is laid back and perfect for mellowing out to with a few good friends and a bottle of wine. The electric guitar, although rocking is played down and is subtly interwoven with the acoustic strumming creating a silky backdrop for the sweetly subdued, almost whispered vocal harmonies, the effect of which at times is quite startling.

There are deviations from this formula with 'Kamakua Dragons' where the electric guitar comes more to the fore and features a harsher screech-edged vocals. The hillbilly violin on Lamplight Shines add another texture to the album. But the centre piece and indeed THE classic epic of the album is 'Desert'. A vast song, spanning over 13 minutes, it builds from a strummed intro adds an aching landscape of electric guitar and sax and is polished with gently atmospheric and psychedelic vocal performance. There is a hint of 'Hotel California' flowing through this masterpiece.

Ignoring some questionable lyrics ('Ooh I've got a heart/Don't hit me you tart' from 'Kamakura Dragons'), this is an album of fragile, beautiful rock that has been known to change hands on the internet at a price in excess of US$160! It's not surprising that people are prepared to pay these sums of money for an album that has the word classic written all over it (well at least once in the top left hand corner of the cover).
-- John Samson, August 2001


All info supplied by John Samson, February 2001.

TOP back to where you came from
South Africa's Rock Classics

South Africa's Rock Legends