Sunways - The Moon is a Spoon

The Moon is a Spoon

2002, Fresh Music, FRESHCD122



  1. The Moon Is A Spoon
  2. Style
  3. Hands
  4. The Magic
  5. Burning Blockade
  6. Rocketship
  7. New Animal
  8. Colour Me In
  9. Felt The Same
  10. Daylight

    Enhanced CD:
    Colour Me In (video)


  • Robbie Boake: Guitar, vocals
  • Sarah Hills: Bass
  • Jason Horseman: Drums, backing vocals


Consisting of members Robbie Boake, Sarah Hills and drummer Jason Horseman, Sunways are by no means a brand new band. Formed a couple of years ago by Boake when he left hard rockers Squeal, Sunways released the mildly successful 'Venus in her eyes' song {A live version appeared on the 'The Best Of 5FM TDK Music Explosion Vol.1' CD - ed}. They were then very quiet for a while until the release of their new single 'Style'.

Their debut album 'The Moon is a Spoon' is a well-produced, good looking package which also contains the video to 'Colour Me In' in CD-ROM format. The songs, all penned by Boake or Boake and Hills, are a collection of some of their best material. A very laid back album, 'The Moon is a Spoon' contains the single 'Style', currently doing the rounds on our airways. Boake has a very dreamy sort of voice which reminds me of James Iha (guitarist from the Smashing Pumpkins) on the few occasions that he sang. A bit of the Dave Birch from Squeal bark also seems to have rubbed off on certain songs.

A highlight on the album is definitely the song 'Colour Me In'. A short, powerful, melodic burst of talent that'll be a hit for sure if released as a single. {1 minute 50 seconds of glam smash and trash, Joey Ramone would have been proud - ed}

All-in-all a great, mellow album with some really melodic guitar work. My only real criticism would have to be that the vocals seem a bit transparent or soft in some places. Sunways are good and I would recommend checking them out on their upcoming countrywide tour.

Jason Smith, SA Rockdigest #105, May 2001

Buy MP3s:

Buy South African MP3s from Rhythm Online

Click here to buy MP3s from Rhythm Online

All info supplied by John Samson, September 2002

TOP back to where you came from
South Africa's Rock Classics
South Africa's Rock Legends