Venessa Nolan - Burn

album cover

February 2001, Rhythm, RR005

Venessa Nolan


  1. I Confess
  2. Don't Drag Me Down
  3. Emptiness High
  4. Fragile
  5. Glorious Gem
  6. Haunted
  7. I Won't Give Up
  8. Losing Control
  9. Why?
  10. With You


  • Venessa Nolan: vocals, piano, keyboards

    On tracks 1, 2, 3, 5, 6, 9 & 10:
  • Carl Treunich: drums
  • David Adamson: bass
  • Wayne Pauli: guitar
  • Nicolette Strachen: keyboards
  • Yolande Carstens: backing vocals

    On tracks 4, 7 & 8:
  • Paul Tizzard: drums
  • Yo Yo Buys: bass
  • Tigger Reunert: guitar
  • Dalene Turner: backing vocals


‘Burn’s’ grey cover photo of Venessa’s fringe-covered face first appeared on a huge billboard on a Cape Town highway at the same time as behind it, a massive fire swept across Table Mountain, creating a powerful backdrop and unintentional "brand" awareness. These ten original ballads introduced us to an impressive new singer, songwriter and pianist. Dark and exquisitely broody, these songs swirl around in the mind and tingle in hidden recesses of the brain, playing symphonic bedsit rock on your heartstrings. Songs like, ‘Fragile’, ‘Losing Control’, ‘With You’ and ‘Emptiness High’ followed each other onto the radio and into the charts. But, singles aside, this 'Glorious Gem' of an album, makes it clear that we have a major new talent on our hands. And thanks to her emotive piano playing, 'Burn' qualifies as our ‘Unplucked’ album of the year.

Venessa had quite a few achievements in the year of 2001, including:

'Burn' rated as 5th best Album of 2001 by SA Rock Digest
'Fragile' rated as 13th best Song of 2001 by SA Rock Digest
'Emptiness High' rated as 48th best Song of 2001 by SA Rock Digest

Buy MP3s:

Buy South African MP3s from Rhythm Online

Click here to buy MP3s from Rhythm Online

TOPback to where you came from
South Africa's Rock Legends
South African Rock Encyclopedia