John and Philipa Cooper

Folk Rock Duo


  • The Cooperville Times, Parlophone, PCSJ 12050, 1969 [rec Nov 1968]



    Side one

  • The mad professor
  • Gypsy spell
  • I'll be more than satisfied
  • Wild daydreams
  • Edge of eternity
  • My pair of spectacles

    Side two

  • Man in a bowler hat
  • Singing in my soul
  • Broomstick
  • Good old sun
  • She's my woman


  • John & Philippa Cooper - vocals
  • Julian Laxton - lead guitar
  • Ivor Back - drums
  • Werner Krupski - keyboards
  • Art de Villiers - accoustic guitar
  • Bob Hill - bass
  • Francesco - fiddle
  • Rory Blackwell - tambourine

    Astral Daze 'The Mad Professor' is available on a Retrofresh compilation titled 'Astral Daze - Psychedelic South African Rock 1968-1972'. This CD features 18 classic, rare and obscure tracks (16 of which have never previously been released on official CDs before). This CD was compiled by Benjy Mudie and Brian Currin with major input from SA rock collector Tertius Louw.

    Tertius Louw, April 2003

    South Africa's Rock Legends

    South Africa's Rock Classics