Lorraine Shannon
Lorraine Shannon - click for bigger picture

Released March 2003
Gallo, CDRPM 1795

  1. Your Song featuring Jannie Moolman
  2. You're Still The One
  3. Charlie guitar solo by Trevor Rabin
  4. Unchained Melody
  5. Somethin' Stupid guitar duet by Mauritz Lotz
  6. How Deep Is Your Love
  7. All By Myself featuring Juanita Kruger
  8. Unbreak My Heart
  9. Paradise Road
  10. Nature Boy trumpet solo by Marcus Wyatt
  11. Eternal Flame
  12. To Where We Are
  13. No Matter What
  14. How Do I Live
  15. I Believe I Can Fly
  16. A Moment Of Love

Download the mp3 of Charlie from SAmp3.com.


SA Rock Digest, 10 March 2003

Lorraine Shannon is a well-known South African pianist who has just released her self-titled album on the Gallo SA label. The album features 16 lovely interpretations of classic pop songs, produced and arranged by Mauritz Lotz. It seems that Lorraine Shannon had to be coerced a little into recording this album, but Robert Schroder did the convincing, and the executive producing, and it was well worth the effort.

There is one original composition, 'A Moment Of Love' among the other beautifully performed piano-based instrumental versions of songs like 'Your Song', 'Unchained Melody', and 'Unbreak My Heart'. There is also a very special version of the song 'Charlie', the huge Rabbitt hit written by Patric van Blerk and Trevor Rabin. Shannon's interpretation impressed Rabin enough to result in him providing an accompanying guitar section.

Other guest spots include trumpeter Marcus Wyatt on 'Nature Boy', vocalist Juanita Kruger on 'All By Myself', vocalist Jannie Moolman on 'Your Song' and Mauritz Lotz duets on guitar on 'Somethin' Stupid'. Lotz played all the guitars on the album and Lorraine Shannon played piano, keyboards, and adds some haunting vocal effects. The other musicians on the album are Denny Lalouette (bass), Neill Ettridge (drums), and Bruce Wallace (drums).

South African Rock Music: past, present & future

©2003 Vagabond Web. All rights reserved.