Roger Waters

Flickering Flame
The Solo Years Volume 1

CD Cover

Released 2 May 2002 in South Africa. Catalogue number: CDCOL6391.

  1. Knockin On Heavens Door (cover version of the Bob Dylan song, from 'The Dybbuk from the Holy Apple Field' film, 1998)
  2. Too Much Rope (from Amused To Death)
  3. The Tide Is Turning (from Radio KAOS)
  4. Perfect Sense, Parts 1 & 2 (live version from In The Flesh, originally from Amused To Death)
  5. Three Wishes (from Amused To Death)
  6. 5.06am (Every Strangers Eyes) (from The Pros And Cons Of Hitchhiking)
  7. Who Needs Information? (remix) (from Radio KAOS)
  8. Each Small Candle (from In The Flesh)
  9. Flickering Flame (demo of new song)
  10. Towers Of Faith (from When the Wind Blows OST, 1987)
  11. Radio Waves (from Radio KAOS)
  12. The Lost Boys Calling (Original Demo)


When Roger Waters started his "In The Flesh 2002" world tour in Cape Town on the 27th February, the encore song was the new and previously unheard 'Flickering Flame'. Now as the tour continues (currently in Portugal and Spain), SonyMusic have released a Roger Waters retrospective titled 'Flickering Flame - The Solo Years Volume 1'.

This CD contains a demo version of 'Flickering Flame' (different to the MP3 which is floating around the Net) and the original demo of 'Lost Boys Calling' (from the 'Legend of 1900' film, recently seen on MNET). I would have preferred the official version with the Eddie Van Halen guitar solo... well, maybe it'll be on Volume 2 which the CD title hints at. There is also a version of Bob Dylan's 'Knocking On Heaven's Door' from the 1998 film 'The Dybbuk from the Holy Apple Field'.

An interesting and obscure South African connection on this CD is the woman with the strong SA accent speaking at the beginning of 'Three Wishes' (from 'Amused To Death').

This CD includes tracks from all of Roger's post-Floyd solo albums, including the brilliant 'Towers Of Faith' from the very-hard-to-find 'When The Wind Blows' soundtrack (released in 1987). Also featured is the live 'In The Flesh' version of 'One Small Candle' which was the encore track at the Joburg concert on the 1st March and has never been released as a studio track.

The message on the CD cover says: "a collectors limited edition...", and as with most compilations you can't please all the people all the time, but this CD should please most people from the casual fan to the real hardcore fan(atic) (c'mon you know you are).

-- Brian Currin, May 2002

And here is my idea for an imaginary 2CD set, titled Welcome To The Machine, compiled December 2000, modified July 2001.


Pink Floyd

The Wall

Quick Guide

TOP back to where you came from
Home | Legends | Obscure | Rock Lists | Set Lists | Trivia | Contact ]