Logo designed by Brian Currin and Peter Hanmer
Search Web
Search Rock.co.za
Search Dinosaur Days

Subscribe to our newsletter

SA Rock Encylopedia This website is part of the South African Rock Encyclopedia

Rhythm Online - South African Online Music Store
Rhythm Records
Online Music Store

Search the world
for your music!

The RockIt Scientist
on 1485 Radio Today

1485 Radio Today
Also on DStv
Audio Channel 70

The RockIt Scientist is a very diverse music programme that features Progressive/ Hard/ Classic Rock, Blues, Brass Rock, Latin/ African Rock, Jazz and Metal music.

As "non-commercial/ non-Top 40" music ranging from the mid sixties to the present day is featured, the intention is to cater for the more discerning music listener, with no age limits or restrictions imposed or implied. An open mind and a love of music is mandatory!

The programme, which is broadcast on 1485am Radio Today, every Friday evening between 10pm and 1am, is presented by Leon Economides, who has worked with radio greats such as Tony Sanderson (Chuckle and Chat Show on Radio 5), Chris Prior (The Priority Feature on Radio 5), Phil Wright (The Dinosaur Days on 5fm), and Rafe Lavine (Rock Classics and The Great Unknowns on Radio 5, and the original RockIt Scientists on SAfm).

Radio Today is also available nationwide on the DStv Audio Channel 70.


This page is for YOU to have your say and let us know what your favourite albums of all-time are. Please use the contact form and send us your Top 30 albums and we will put your list up here. You can also send in reviews of your favourite albums, DVDs, live gigs, etc and we will put them up here as well.


Rare Earth [2004] by Brian Currin
The Tubes - Outside Inside [1981]
by Lee Bradfield
The Tubes - The Completion Backwards Principle [1983] by Lee Bradfield
Harlequin - Harlequin [1984]
by Lee Bradfield
Off The Edge - Site Under Construction [2004] by Brian Currin

(in order of date received)

Shiloh Noone
Keith Moister
Onika Wasserthal
Vivian Bannatyne
Tyrone Heydenrych
Charl Barry
Johnathan Martin
Brian Currin
Dave Kershaw
Julian Fairall
Gerard Ziegler
Willie Velthuizen
Rob Curran
Yani Joannides
Maurizio Tomassini
Henri Craemer
Luyton Driman
Pete Huxham
Nicky Wilson
Wayne Hampton
Rusty Hornsby
Vincent Marino
Ray Archer
Martin Green
Alisdair Forfar
Aris Binikos
Nick Matzukis
Martin Ziegler
Sean O'Riley
Paul DeLorme
Ian Smith
Barry Frey
Steve and Anne De Meuse
Kenny Meiring
Morne Zeelie
Kai Horsthemke
Clint Cunningham
Kevin Brown
Sean Madden
Barry Groenewald
Lois Sinclair
Bobby Louw
Stuart Thomson
Jim Collins
Paul Gibbs
Clint Cunningham
Peter Hanmer
Charles Schoombee
Tommy Svensson
George Fazakas
Francois Viljoen
Dave Sharp
Steve Brittle
Mike de Jager
Dave Toothill
Ake Eriksson
Patti Myers
Dave Wagstaffe
Max Aston
Emil Wessels
Pasi Koivu
Chas Kimbrell
Steve Strange
Steve Chowles
Geoff Starling

  2005-2008 The RockIt Scientst. All rights reserved. Designed and maintained by Brian Currin